Level 3 In Assessing Vocationally Related Achievement

level 3 certificate in assessing vocational achievement online

Course Description

The Level 3 Certificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement course is intended for those who assess both occupational competence in the work environment and vocational skills, knowledge and understanding in environments other than the workplace (for example a workshop, classroom or other training environment).

There are on-site assessments involved in this course, and we are fully flexible in facilitating these to your preference.

What is the Level 3 Certificate in Assessing Vocationally Related Achievement?

This course enables the student to understand how to assess competence in the work environment as well as teaching them the practices and principles of assessment. The course is intended for anyone who assesses progress in their work environment.

Course Length

We facilitate the course online through an e-learning portal which allows you to work through the course at your own pace; with easy access to tutors and the helpdesk to ease your progression. The guided learning hours for this course is 84 hours, the course is achievable within 6-12 weeks, however you will have 12 months as a course expiry date.

What Will You Study?

There are 3 mandatory units in the Level 3 Certificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement. These are:

Unit 1

‘Understanding Principles and Practices of Assessment’

Unit 1 is entirely knowledge-based. This unit covers all of the underpinning theory behind the role and responsibilities of an assessor.

The vast majority of this unit is assignment-based. ‘Assessment methods’, ‘Use of technology’ and ‘The training cycle’ are just a few of the topics you will cover in this unit.

You will complete this entire unit via a Virtual Learning Environment (VLE). Although we make a variety of learning resources available to you on our VLE, you will also have unlimited tutor support. So, if you are ever unsure about what a task requires or even if you just need some clarity on some feedback you have received – you can just pick up the phone and speak to someone.

Unit 2

‘Assess Occupational Competence in the Work Environment’

This unit requires you, the trainee assessor to carry out 2 assessments on 2 learners each – totalling 4 assessments. You will be required to assess their occupational competence within their workplace using ‘Observation’ and at least one other assessment method.

You will require access to two learners and a suitably qualified assessor, who is willing to observe you assessing those two learners. You will be able to assess your two learners whenever is most convenient for you and your tutor will attend to assess your practice.

Unit 3

‘Assess Vocational Skills, Knowledge and Understanding’

Finally, in unit 3 you will again be required to carry out 2 assessments on 2 learners. However, for this unit, you will be assessing candidates’ knowledge and understanding of their role.

Because you will be carrying out knowledge-based assessments in this unit, you will actually be able to complete it entirely online; via the VLE.

The main task within this unit will involve you looking at the ‘knowledge-based’ criteria they need to hit and developing assessment plans asking your learners to produce work that meets the respective criteria from their qualifications. Upon receiving their work, you will then mark it and give them feedback.

Course Completion

On successful completion of this course, the learner will achieve a UK recognised, fully accredited qualification/certificate – Level 3 Certificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement (CAVA) (RQF)

focus awards

Course Cost

Cost: £499 *50% off for first time students

Contact Us Now

If you would like to know more about what we do or the opportunities we might have for you then please don’t hesitate to get in contact now.